Georgetown Gem

M’s Meatballs December 8, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — kekirkpatz @ 3:03 pm

Dirty sounding title, no? First, I am horrible at keeping my word when it comes to blogs. Moving on, and secondly, I had to publish this recipe because these meatballs are to die for. I also created a sauce to go with it, but I wasn’t absolutely in love with it, so for now I would suggest making your own with a Cook’s Illustrated recipe (which is what I’m going to adapt mine from) or just use a good jar of sauce that you already know you like. I am not a tomato lover (more like a hater) but I do think that a sauce to soak these babies in is necessary, so even I dealt with it just to have this deliciously created dish. M has always bragged that he made the best meatballs, and I believed him but didn’t, in that way that girlfriends/boyfriends usually just nod and say, “Right, of course you were great at softball in high school… I can tell by how much you work out now!” You know. That sort of way.

And he proved me wrong.

(Apologies for the crappy iPhone photos. One day we will invest in a nice camera.)

M’s Meatballs

1 lb pork

1lb beef

2 cups Italian breadcrumbs

¾ cup parmesan cheese

¾ cup fresh chopped parsley

2 eggs

7 cloves garlic, minced

2 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

1 tsp red pepper flakes

 

Mix all of the above in a large bowl with your hands.

Form large meatballs and place on a baking sheet.

Bake for 30 minutes at 350o.

Remove from oven and finish cooking in a pot of simmering tomato sauce for 1 hour. Garnish with fresh parsley and grated Parmesan cheese.

 

GG’s Thoughts: This makes a lot of meatballs, and 2-3 meatballs is all you need to fill you up with some spaghetti underneath. We made the full recipe, which had 19 meatballs. We cooked 10 in a crockpot for 5 hours on low in the sauce (after baking the night before like the directions above say). The other 9 we put into a freezer bag and froze raw. My thought is that 2 days before we want them I’ll take them out and thaw them. The next night I’ll bake them for 30 minutes, cool, and then store in the refrigerator like we did this time. Then we can either eat them that night after cooking for an hour, or cook the next day in a crockpot like we did this time. This is such a good, wholesome meal that was easy to prepare and filled us up quickly.

 

Leave a Reply

